Bilfinger – Rebranding of the former construction group as an industrial services provider

»We're not a construction company anymore.« – Roland Koch, 2011 to 2014 CEO of Bilfinger, sums it up. Bilfinger Berger has undergone a fundamental transformation process: Over the years, the company has transformed itself from a construction group into an internationally active engineering and services company. In 2011, Bilfinger Berger generates around 80 percent of its total revenues in the services business. Problem: In the public perspective, however, the company, which comprises some 300 individual brands, is still perceived as a construction group. In order to express the comprehensive change and strategic realignment, to strengthen the brand's presence and to communicate the range of services and structure as an engineering and services group, it was therefore necessary to sharpen the positioning and create a new corporate design.

The brand promise »We make it work.« in conjunction with the new philosophy »We create. We care. We can.« succeeds in getting to the heart of the enormous range of services and the unique combination of the complementary attributes »engineering competence« and »service mentality« in a way that is both memorable and relevant to the customer. On this basis, a new corporate mission statement is developed in over 100 workshops with 1,400 participants worldwide.

At the same time, Bilfinger Berger becomes Bilfinger. The new, more succinct name refers to the origins and at the same time stands for the realignment – without losing existing brand value. In addition, a new, clearer brand architecture turns a confusing »house of brands« into a structured »branded house«, while the new corporate design combines continuity with a new departure. It reflects tradition, while at the same time visually highlighting the unique selling proposition – the unrivaled combination of engineering expertise and service mentality.

The work for Bilfinger has received numerous awards: the Brand Award 2014 as a special prize from the jury, the PR Report Award 2014 in the »Change« category, the iF Design Award 2014 in the »Communication: Brand Relaunch« category and the German Design Award 2015 in the »Corporate & Brand Design« category (Special Mention). Bilfinger also received a nomination for the Corporate Design Preis 2014.

POSITIONING

»We make it work«

What unites civil engineers and facility managers? What do fitters and electronics engineers, product designers and canteen cooks have in common? They all make sure that things run smoothly. Bilfinger enables its industrial customers to concentrate on their core business – expressed in the brand promise »We make it work«. The brand values also reflect the key facets of the company: a high density of engineers (»We create«), a pronounced customer and service orientation (»We care«) and a confident down-to-earth attitude (»We can«).

Bilfinger Promise
Bilfinger postioning values
Bilfinger postioning values
Bilfinger postioning values

DESIGN CONCEPT

The complementary principle

The entrepreneurial unique selling proposition became a design leitmotif. Just as engineering expertise and service mentality interact in a complementary way and just as Bilfinger provides services that are complementary to the core competencies of its customers, so all design parameters move in a complementary field of tension and create a concise brand appearance. The new logo, the so-called Bilfinger loop, also symbolizes the two complementary areas of engineering and services through its shape and color scheme, which intermesh seamlessly, and additionally expresses the idea that Bilfinger can support its customers over the entire life cycle of an industrial plant, power station or property.

Bilfinger Positioning
Bilfinger Basic Elements Typography

A typographic mix of two fonts characterizes the brand appearance. The Thesis Serif is primarily used as a house font – it maximally differentiates in the competitive environment. Univers Condensed is a rational counterpart and lends timelessness to the brand image.

Bilfinger Colours

The modernized Bilfinger Blue is complemented by an agile opponent – the Bilfinger Green. This two-tone color scheme creates a modern color world that stands out from the competition. The secondary colors have a complementary effect in terms of surface and lettering.

Bilfinger Imagery

In the visual language, pairs of complementary images are formed in three dimensions:
01. Proximity meets distance
02. Colorful meets monochrome
03. Emotionality meets rationality

Bilfinger logo creation
Bilfinger logo versions
Bilfinger Pictograms Design

BRAND IMPLEMENTATION

A consistent experience at all touchpoints

From building signage to workwear to business equipment, from trade fair stands to the annual report to the vehicle fleet – an extremely fragmented multi-brand presence has been transformed into a uniform umbrella brand presence with high recognition and integrating effect for the workforce.

Bilfinger brands
Bilfinger application exterior facade
Bilfinger Application Clothing
Bilfinger application
Bilfinger application
Bilfinger application
Bilfinger application
Bilfinger annual report inside

You have questions about this project or want to work on advancing your brand?

We look forward to your inquiry and will be happy to advise you on the phone or arrange a personal meeting.
RELEVANT PROJECTS

Truffle Bay is an owner-managed, integrated strategic brand consulting and design agency based in Munich. With clarity and creativity we help ambitious companies and entrepreneurs to discover, define, design and bring to life their unique identity – to create strong brands as the compass and catalyst of entrepreneurial change processes as well as attractive and differentiating brand experiences to win and retain customers and employees.

Truffle Bay is a member of bvik – Bundesverband Industrie Kommunikation e.V.


© 2020 Truffle Bay, All Rights Reserved.
Imprint   |   Privacy Policy

TRUFFLE BAY Brand Strategy & Design
Widenmayerstraße 36
80538 Munich

T +49 89 452 23 65 10
F +49 89 452 23 65 49
kontakt@trufflebay.de

Twitter Icon
LinkedIn Icon
Vimeo – Icon

Bilfinger – Rebranding des ehemaligen Baukonzerns als Industriedienstleister

»Wir sind kein Baukonzern mehr.« – Roland Koch, 2011–2014 CEO von Bilfinger, bringt es auf den Punkt. Bilfinger Berger hat einen fundamentalen Transformationsprozess hinter sich: Das Unternehmen hat sich über die Jahre vom Baukonzern in ein international agierendes Engineering- und Serviceunternehmen verwandelt. Im Jahr 2011 erwirtschaftet Bilfinger Berger rund 80 Prozent der gesamten Konzernleistung im Dienstleistungsgeschäft. Problem: In der Öffentlichkeit wird das Unternehmen, das etwa 300 Einzelmarken umfasst, jedoch nach wie vor als Baukonzern wahrgenommen. Um dem umfassenden Wandel und der strategischen Neuausrichtung Ausdruck zu verleihen, die Präsenz der Marke zu stärken sowie die Leistungsvielfalt und Struktur als Engineering- und Servicekonzern zu vermitteln, galt es daher, die Positionierung zu schärfen und ein neues Corporate Design zu gestalten. 

Dem Markenversprechen »We make it work« in Verbindung mit dem neuen Selbstverständnis »We create. We care. We can.« gelingt es, die enorme Leistungsvielfalt sowie die einzigartige Kombination der komplementären Attribute »Ingenieurskompetenz« und »Dienstleistungsmentalität« merkfähig und kundenrelevant auf den Punkt zu bringen. In weltweit über 100 Workshops mit 1.400 Teilnehmern wird auf dieser Basis zudem ein neues Unternehmensleitbild entwickelt.

Gleichzeitig wird aus Bilfinger Berger kurz Bilfinger. Der neue, prägnantere Name verweist auf die Herkunft und steht zugleich für die Neuausrichtung – ohne bestehenden Markenwert einzubüßen. Eine neue, klarere Markenarchitektur macht darüber hinaus aus einem unübersichtlichen „House of Brands“ ein strukturiertes „Branded House“, während das neue Corporate Design Kontinuität und Aufbruch vereint. In ihm schlägt sich die Tradition nieder, gleichzeitig trägt es dem Alleinstellungsmerkmal – der einzigartigen Kombination von Ingenieurwissen und Dienstleistungsmentalität – visuell unverkennbar Rechnung.

Die Arbeit für Bilfinger wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet: mit dem Marken Award 2014 als Sonderpreis der Jury, dem PR Report Award 2014 in der Kategorie »Wandel«, dem iF Design Award 2014 in der Kategorie »Communication: Brand Relaunch« und dem German Design Award 2015 in der Kategorie »Corporate & Brand Design« (Special Mention). Zudem erhielt Bilfinger eine Nominierung für den Corporate Design Preis 2014.

POSITIONIERUNG

»We make it work«

Was eint Bauingenieure und Facility Manager? Was verbindet Monteure und Elektroniker, Produktdesigner und Kantinenköche? Sie alle sorgen dafür, dass die Dinge laufen. Bilfinger ermöglicht es seinen Industriekunden, sich auf ihr Kerngeschäft zu konzentrieren – ausgedrückt im Markenversprechen »We make it work«. Die Markenwerte spiegeln zudem die wesentlichen Facetten des Unternehmens wider: eine hohe Ingenieursdichte (»We create«), eine ausgeprägte Kunden- und Dienstleistungsorientierung (»We care«) und eine selbstbewusste Bodenständigkeit (»We can«).

Bilfinger Markenwerte Versprechen – We make it work
Bilfinger Markenwerte – We create
Bilfinger Markenwerte – We care
Bilfinger Markenwerte – We can

DESIGNKONZEPT

Das Komplementär-Prinzip

Aus dem unternehmerischen Alleinstellungsmerkmal wurde ein gestalterisches Leitmotiv. So wie Ingenieurskompetenz und Dienstleistungsmentalität komplementär zusammenspielen und so wie Bilfinger Leistungen erbringt, die komplementär sind zu den Kernkompetenzen seiner Kunden, so bewegen sich sämtliche Designparameter in einem komplementäten Spannungsfeld und schaffen einen prägnanten Markenauftritt. Und auch das neue Logo, die sogenannte Bilfinger-Schleife, symbolisiert durch Form und Farbgebung die beiden komplementären Bereiche Engineering und Services, die nahtlos ineinandergreifen und verleiht zudem dem Gedanken Ausdruck, dass Bilfinger seine Kunden über den gesamten Lebenszyklus einer Industrieanlage, eines Kraftwerks oder einer Immobilie betreuen kann. 

Bilfinger Positionierung
Bilfinger Basic Elements Typografie

Ein typografischer Mix aus zwei Schrifttypen prägt den Markenauftritt. Die Thesis Serif wird als primär Hausschrift genutzt – sie differenziert maximal im Wettbewerbsumfeld. Die Univers Condensed ist rationaler Gegenpol und verleiht dem Markenauftritt Zeitlosigkeit.

Bilfinger Farben

Das modernisierte Bilfinger Blau wird durch einen agilen Gegenspieler ergänzt – das Bilfinger Grün. Dieser Farbzweiklang bildet eine moderne und dem Wettbewerb gegenüber differenzierende Farbwelt. Die Sekundärfarben wirken ergänzend in Fläche und Schrift.

Bilfinger Bildsprache

In der Bildsprache bilden sich Ergänzungspaare in drei Dimensionen:
01. Nähe trifft Distanz
02. Farbe trifft Monochromie
03. Emotionalität trifft Rationalität

Bilfinger Logo Entstehung
Bilfinger Logo Varianten
Bilfinger Piktogramme Design

MARKEN-IMPLEMENTIERUNG

Ein einheitlicher Auftritt an allen Kontaktpunkten

Von der Gebäudekennzeichnung über die Berufsbekleidung bis zur Geschäftsausstattung, vom Messeauftritt über den Geschäftsbericht bis zur Fahrzeugflotte – aus einem extrem fragmentierten Multi-Marken-Auftritt wurde ein einheitlicher Dachmarkenauftritt mit hoher Wiedererkennbarkeit und integrierendem Effekt für die Belegschaft.

Bilfinger Marken
Bilfinger Anwendung Aussenfassade
Bilfinger Anwendung Kleidung
Bilfinger Anwendung
Bilfinger Anwendung
Bilfinger Anwendung
Bilfinger Anwendung
Bilfinger Geschäftsbericht Innenseite

Sie haben Fragen zu diesem Projekt oder möchten an der Weiterentwicklung Ihrer Marke arbeiten?

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage und beraten Sie gerne telefonisch oder bei einem persönlichen Kennenlerntermin.
RELEVANTE PROJEKTE

Truffle Bay ist eine inhabergeführte, integrierte strategische Markenberatung und Designagentur mit Sitz in München. Mit Klarheit und Kreativität helfen wir ambitionierten Unternehmen und Unternehmern, ihre einzigartige Identität zu finden, zu definieren, zu gestalten und zum Leben zu erwecken – um so starke Marken als Antrieb und Leitstern unternehmerischer Veränderungsprozesse sowie attraktive und differenzierende Markenerlebnisse zur Gewinnung und Bindung von Kunden und Mitarbeitern zu erschaffen.

Truffle Bay ist Mitglied im bvik – Bundesverband Industrie Kommunikation e.V.


© 2020 Truffle Bay, All Rights Reserved.
Impressum   |   Datenschutz

TRUFFLE BAY Brand Strategy & Design
Widenmayerstraße 36
80538 München

T +49 89 452 23 65 10
F +49 89 452 23 65 49
kontakt@trufflebay.de

Twitter Icon
LinkedIn Icon
Vimeo Icon