Jelbi – The new brand for unlimited mobility in Berlin

Our cities are growing and growing. Work and leisure merge. We are constantly on the move and always mobile. But yesterday's mobility cannot be tomorrow's mobility – this applies especially to our big cities. Traffic chaos, pollution, parking problems and a changing relationship to owning a car dominate the public debate. Cities should become greener and more liveable again. The seamless combination of public transportation and shared mobility services offers a suitable answer to these challenges.

With Jelbi (from the Berlin slang »jelb« for the color yellow), Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe (BVG), Berlin's public transport operators, have therefore developed a new intermodal Mobility-as-a-Service concept that combines Berlin's subway, suburban train, tram, bus, and ferries with a wide range of sharing and service offers from private providers such as car sharing and taxis, bike and scooter sharing, and e-charging stations in one app. In addition, there are Jelbi stations at important junctions where the means of transport can be changed. In this way, Jelbi is to become the digital mobility guide in the German capital and inspire Berliners and visitors to the metropolis with enthusiasm for the new, intelligently networked and sustainable urban mobility.

In order to make this offer known to a broad public with a well-rounded communicative overall appearance, Truffle Bay has developed a clear positioning and, based on this, a distinctive and flexible brand design, which stages the new brand in an eye-catching way in the Berlin cityscape.

The unique Jelbi design has already received the German Design Award Gold 2020 in the category »Brand Identity« and the DDC Award Good Design 2019 in the category »Identity«, and also made it onto the D&AD Awards Shortlist 2019 in the category »New Branding Schemes«.

Jelbi Strategy

POSITIONING

Simply better on the move

Jelbi is about more than just getting from A to B – Jelbi connects people and (digital and analog) worlds. Jelbi thinks further and close to everyday life. Jelbi is sustainable and flexible. And: Jelbi is a real Berlin original! This is reflected in the positioning around the brand promise »Simply better on the move« and in the three brand values »connecting«, »clever« and »casual«.

DESIGN CONCEPT

Inspired by the shapes of urban mobility

The »Jelbi pattern« consists of just a few defined basic forms derived from the city's innumerable traffic routes, interfaces and dynamic movement patterns. The novel combination of these forms creates a highly distinctive pattern that visualizes the countless mobility networks, junctions and routes with start and end points.

In addition, the defined elements can be used to depict prominent landmarks in the cityscape. The combination possibilities are almost inexhaustible – just like the individual journeys with Jelbi – and thus ideally suited to design all conceivable brand touchpoints.

Vincotech color spectrum Jelbi derivation of the shapes
Vincotech color spectrum Jelbi derivation of the shapes
Jelbi Pattern
Jelbi Pattern
Jelbi Pattern, Landmarks Berlin 02
Jelbi Pattern, Landmarks Berlin 01

BASIC ELEMENTS

Flexible design with a system

The extremely flexible and modular design system allows a versatile, lively and strong use of the elements with high recognition value. The entire design is based on six basic elements.

Word mark

Jelbi Basic Elements Logo

Initial

Jelbi Basic Elements Initial

Pattern

Jelbi Basic Elements Pattern

Pictograms

Jelbi Icons

Typography

Jelbi Basic Elements Typography Claim

Color scheme

Jelbi Design Colours
Jelbi App Icon, Smartphone
Jelbi Mobility Hub, Berlin
»A contemporary, characteristic, highly-recognizable brand design, which together with the simple pictograms and the »Jelbi« wordmark is easy to understand, arouses curiosity, looks cool and casual and offers flexible application possibilities. Its young, fresh style fits perfectly with the capital.«

German Design Council

Jelbi font FF Campton
Jelbi means variety
Jelbi Merchandising Helmet
Jelbi Merchandising coffee mugs to go
Jelbi Merchandising Scarf
Jelbi Merchandising mobile phone case
Jelbi Mockups jute bag

You have questions about this project or want to work on advancing your brand?

We look forward to your inquiry and will be happy to advise you on the phone or arrange a personal meeting.
RELEVANT PROJECTS

Truffle Bay is an owner-managed, integrated strategic brand consulting and design agency based in Munich. With clarity and creativity we help ambitious companies and entrepreneurs to discover, define, design and bring to life their unique identity – to create strong brands as the compass and catalyst of entrepreneurial change processes as well as attractive and differentiating brand experiences to win and retain customers and employees.

Truffle Bay is a member of bvik – Bundesverband Industrie Kommunikation e.V.


© 2020 Truffle Bay, All Rights Reserved.
Imprint   |   Privacy Policy

TRUFFLE BAY Brand Strategy & Design
Widenmayerstraße 36
80538 Munich

T +49 89 452 23 65 10
F +49 89 452 23 65 49
kontakt@trufflebay.de

Twitter Icon
LinkedIn Icon
Vimeo – Icon

Jelbi – Die neue Marke für unbegrenzte Mobilität in Berlin

Unsere Städte wachsen und wachsen. Arbeit und Freizeit verschmelzen. Wir sind ständig in Bewegung und immer mobil. Doch die Mobilität von gestern kann nicht die Mobilität von morgen sein – das gilt vor allem für unsere Großstädte. Verkehrschaos, Feinstaubbelastung, Parkplatzprobleme und ein sich wandelndes Verhältnis zum eigenen Fahrzeugbesitz dominieren die öffentliche Diskussion. Die Städte sollen wieder grüner und lebenswerter werden. Die nahtlose Verbindung aus öffentlichem Nahverkehr und Shared-Mobility-Services bietet hierfür eine passende Antwort.

Mit Jelbi (vom Berlinerischen »Jelb« für die Farbe Gelb) haben die Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe (BVG) daher ein neues intermodales Mobility-as-a-Service-Konzept entwickelt, das in einer App die Berliner U-Bahn, S-Bahn, Tram und Bus sowie Fähren mit vielfältigen Sharing- und Service-Angeboten privater Anbieter wie Car Sharing und Taxis, Bike- und Roller-Sharing sowie e-Ladestationen verbindet. Zusätzlich gibt es Jelbi-Stationen an wichtigen Knotenpunkten, an denen die Verkehrsmittel gewechselt werden können. So soll Jelbi zum digitalen Mobilitätslotsen in der deutschen Hauptstadt werden und die Berlinerinnen und Berliner sowie die Besucher der Metropole für die neue, intelligent vernetzte und nachhaltige urbane Mobilität begeistern.

Um dieses Angebot mit einem runden kommunikativen Gesamtauftritt einer breiten Öffentlichkeit bekannt zu machen, hat Truffle Bay eine klare Positionierung sowie darauf aufbauend ein eigenständiges und flexibles Markendesign entwickelt, das die neue Marke aufmerksamkeitsstark im Berliner Stadtbild in Szene setzt.

Das einzigartige Jelbi-Design wurde bereits doppelt ausgezeichnet: mit dem German Design Award 2020 in Gold in der Kategorie »Brand Identity« sowie dem DDC Award Gute Gestaltung 2019 in der Kategorie »Identity«. Zudem schaffte es Jelbi auf die D&AD Awards Shortlist 2019 in der Kategorie »New Branding Schemes«.

Jelbi Marken Strategie

POSITIONIERUNG

Einfach besser unterwegs

Bei Jelbi geht es um mehr als die reine Verbindung von A nach B – Jelbi verbindet Menschen und (digitale und analoge) Welten. Jelbi denkt weiter und alltagsnah. Jelbi ist nachhaltig und flexibel. Und: Jelbi ist ein echtes Berliner Jewächs! Das spiegelt sich in der Positionierung rund um das Markenversprechen »Einfach besser unterwegs« und in den drei Markenwerten »verbindend«, »clever« und »lässig«.

DESIGNKONZEPT

Inspiriert von den Formen der urbanen Mobilität

Das »Jelbi-Pattern« besteht aus einigen wenigen definierten Grundformen, die aus den unzähligen Verkehrswegen, Schnittstellen und dynamische Bewegungsmustern der Stadt abgeleitet sind. Durch die neuartige Kombination dieser Formen entsteht ein hochgradig eigenständiges Muster, mit dem die zahllosen Mobilitätsnetze, Knotenpunkte sowie Strecken mit Start- und Zielpunkt visualisiert werden.

Zudem lassen sich mit den definierten Elementen markante Punkten des Stadtbildes abbilden. Die Kombinationsmöglichkeiten sind schier unerschöpflich – genau wie die individuellen Journeys mit Jelbi – und somit bestens geeignet, alle denkbaren Brand Touch Points zu bespielen.
Jelbi Herleitung der Formen
Jelbi Herleitung der Formen
Jelbi Pattern
Jelbi Pattern
Jelbi Pattern Berlin 02
Jelbi Pattern Berlin 01

BASISELEMENTE

Flexibles Design mit System

Das extrem flexible und modulare Designsystem erlaubt einen vielfältigen, lebendigen und starken Einsatz der Elemente mit hohem Wiedererkennungswert. Die gesamte Gestaltung ist auf sechs Basis-Elementen aufgebaut.

Wortmarke

Jelbi Basic Elements Logo

Initial

Jelbi Basic Elements Initiale

Pattern

Jelbi Basic Elements Pattern

Piktogrammstil

Jelbi Icons

Typografie

Jelbi Basic Elements Typografie Claim

Farbwelt

Jelbi Design Farben
Jelbi Handy App Icon
Jelbi Bild Hub
»Ein zeitgemäßes, charakteristisches Markendesign mit einer hohen Wiedererkennung, das zusammen mit den simplen Piktogrammen und der Wortmarke »Jelbi« gut verständlich ist, Neugier weckt, cool und lässig wirkt und flexible Einsatzmöglichkeiten bietet. Passt in seiner jungen, frischen Art perfekt zur Hauptstadt.«

Rat für Formgebung

Jelbi Schrift FF Campton
Jelbi Typo 02
Jelbi Merchandising Helm
Jelbi Merchandising Kaffeebecher
Jelbi Merchandising Schal
Jelbi Merchandising Handyhuelle
Jelbi Mockups Jutebeutel

Sie haben Fragen zu diesem Projekt oder möchten an der Weiterentwicklung Ihrer Marke arbeiten?

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage und beraten Sie gerne telefonisch oder bei einem persönlichen Kennenlerntermin.
RELEVANTE PROJEKTE

Truffle Bay ist eine inhabergeführte, integrierte strategische Markenberatung und Designagentur mit Sitz in München. Mit Klarheit und Kreativität helfen wir ambitionierten Unternehmen und Unternehmern, ihre einzigartige Identität zu finden, zu definieren, zu gestalten und zum Leben zu erwecken – um so starke Marken als Antrieb und Leitstern unternehmerischer Veränderungsprozesse sowie attraktive und differenzierende Markenerlebnisse zur Gewinnung und Bindung von Kunden und Mitarbeitern zu erschaffen.

Truffle Bay ist Mitglied im bvik – Bundesverband Industrie Kommunikation e.V.


© 2020 Truffle Bay, All Rights Reserved.
Impressum   |   Datenschutz

TRUFFLE BAY Brand Strategy & Design
Widenmayerstraße 36
80538 München

T +49 89 452 23 65 10
F +49 89 452 23 65 49
kontakt@trufflebay.de

twitter icon
Truffle Bay Linked In
vimeo icon